Table of Contents Hide
I was browsing through my feed on Instagram and after a while, I jumped to my DM to see messages from my friends.
While scrolling through the older chats, I noticed a profile that says “Instagram User” instead of their actual name.
Here’s the screenshot of how it looks on my DM:
I wondered, what was it? Out of my curiosity, I just opened the chat and realized it was a chat with one of my friends. I could see his username at the top but could not find out why was it showing “Instagram User” instead of his “username”.
I tapped his username and this is what I discovered.
It just showed Instagram User with a blank profile picture. Without a second thought, I supposed he might have blocked me. But this was not the case.
Read along to find out what I discovered and what ‘Instagram User’ or ‘Instagrammer’ actually means.
What Does It Mean When It Says “Instagram User”?
After enquiring with my friend through another messaging app, I got to know that he had deleted his account permanently and is now using a new account.
This was one of the conclusions that I came to in the end. If a user deletes his/her account, Instagram shows the profile as ‘Instagram User’ or ‘Instagrammer’.
However, this is not the only reason why it shows ‘Instagram User’. I have summarized below what could be the possible reasons for the same.
The User Has Deleted Their Account
As seen from the above conclusion, if someone deletes their account and you happen to visit their profile, you will see ‘Instagram User’ instead of their actual profile.
If your friends delete their account and you have a previous conversation with them, you’ll still be able to see the older chats. However, instead of their username, you will notice a tag of ‘Instagram User’.
When you try messaging them, the message will be sent as usual but it will be of no use as there exists no account to receive it.
The User Has Temporarily Deactivated Their Account
Another common reason for the same is their account has been deactivated temporarily.
People like to take a break from social platforms and deactivating the account for a while is the best way to stay away from it.
So, if someone disables their account temporarily, and you have a conversation with them, you’ll still be able to read the previous messages. The only thing is their profile would appear as ‘Instagram User’.
Any sent messages will be undelivered until and unless they reactivate their account by logging back into their account.
Instagram Has Banned Their Account
Like all the other applications, Instagram too has its own set of terms and conditions for its users. Violating the terms often leads to the suspension of the account.
If by any means, someone breaks the rules and Instagram ban their account, you’ll see the user as ‘Instagram User’ on your DM if both of you have chatted with each other earlier.
The tag “Instagram User” is often confused with blocking on Instagram. However, both cases are different and have different meanings.
Next time when you see ‘Instagram User’ instead of someone’s real profile, you can keep away the thought of being blocked by them. It simply means that the account is deleted, temporarily deactivated, or suspended by Instagram.
If you’ve any queries, please leave them in the comments below.
Does Instagram User mean blocked?
No. If someone blocks you, it doesn’t show their profile as an “Instagram User”.
Does Instagram User mean deleted or deactivated?
If someone has deactivated or deleted their Instagram account, you will see them as an “Instagram User” instead of their actual name.