Table of Contents Hide
If someone leaves an irrelevant or a hate comment on your Instagram posts, you can restrict them which will hide the comment from other users on Instagram.
Are you in a similar situation and want to restrict someone but don’t know what would be its consequences?
If yes, your search ends here. In this blog post, I will be covering all the aspects regarding restricting someone on Instagram.
So, let’s begin!
What Happens When You Restrict an Instagram User
Usually, two things happen in this case. Let’s have a look at them.
1) Their comments will be hidden: Any new comments they make on your posts will be hidden from other users on Instagram except you and the restricted person. Moreover, you won’t receive any notification when they comment. You need to manually to go the post to see if they have left any comments.
Here’s how the comment looks like to you when they leave a comment.
You can tap See Comment to see the comment.
You can now choose to approve or delete the comment. Approving the comment makes it visible to every other Instagram user while deleting removes it permanently.
Even if you don’t approve the comment, it will be visible to the restricted user as usual and it makes them feel the comment has been posted.
2) Their chat will move to the Message Requests tab: If you have a conversation with them earlier, the chat will move to the Requests tab after restricting. Any new messages they send will appear as requests.
You can read the messages but they won’t be marked as seen to the restricted user unless you unrestrict them.
Most people are confused about whether the previous DM would get erased completely. The answer is NO. The chat will only move to the Requests tab with all the previous messages.
Will Someone Know If You Restrict Them on Instagram?
Restricting someone on Instagram is a silent process. Instagram won’t send them a notification when you restrict them.
However, they may use some of the common methods to see if you’ve restricted them.
You must definitely check out this article – How to Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram
Can They See Your Posts or Stories If You Restrict Them?
Restricting someone on Instagram doesn’t stop them from seeing your posts or stories.
When you share a new post, it would appear normally on their feed if they are following you. Moreover, they can like the post without any restriction. The only thing is if they leave a comment you need to manually approve it to make the comment public or else the comment will be visible only to you and the restricted user.
The stories too will appear on top of their feed and can be viewed easily. However, if they send any reaction to the story, it will land in your Message Requests tab.
When You Restrict Someone On Instagram Can They See Your Likes?
If you restrict someone on Instagram, they will still be able to see your likes under other users’ posts.
Restricting someone will not hide your likes on the platform.
Can Restricted Accounts Message You?
Yes, restricted accounts can still message you. However, the messages will land on your Message Requests tab.
You can read the messages anonymously and the sender won’t know you’ve seen the messages until you unrestrict them.
Have I left any questions? If there are any, please leave them in the comment below so that I can add them.