Can You Unsend A Message On Messenger Without Them Knowing?

Sometimes you send a text message to your friends and soon realize you should not have sent it. Luckily, Messenger lets you unsend messages.

But is it possible to unsend messages without notifying the other user?

Can You Unsend Messages On Messenger Without Them Knowing?

Although Messenger allows you to undo the messages you’ve sent, the other person is always notified that you have unsent the messages.

So, you cannot unsend messages without letting the other person know about them. When you unsend a message, they will see a message in their conversation screen that says [your-name unsent a message].

The other person will never know the content of the message you have unsent.

Let’s see how you can unsend messages on Messenger.

How to Unsend A Message On Messenger

The methods are slightly different on Android & iOS.

Using Android

Step 1: Launch the Messenger app on your phone.

Step 2: Open the conversation on your Chats screen that contains the message you wish to unsend.

Step 3: Long-press the specific message you want to unsend, then tap Remove. (You may need to tap More before you see the Remove option).

Step 4: A pop-up will then appear. Select Unsend.

They will receive a notification that you’ve unsent the message.

Using iPhone

Step 1: Launch the Messenger app on your iPhone.

Step 2: Open the conversation that contains the message you want to unsend.

Step 3: Long press the specific message you want to unsend, then tap Moreā€¦

Step 4: Select Unsend.

Step 5: Choose Unsend for Everyone.

If the other person hasn’t opened your message yet, they won’t see the message content. However, they will know that you have unsent it.

Using Messenger Website

Step 1: Open your computer browser, go to messenger.com and log into your account.

Step 2: Open the chat you wish to delete messages from.

Step 3: Hover the cursor over the message you want to unsend and click the three dots next to it. Then, click Remove.

Step 4: Select Unsend for everyone.

Step 5: Clik Remove.

FAQs

Can you unsend messages on Messenger all at once?

No, you can’t unsend messages all at once. There’s no option to select messages in bulk. You can unsend only one message at a time.

If you unsend a message on Messenger, does the other person know?

As soon as you unsend a message, they will receive a notification about the same.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.