Table of Contents Hide
- Can You Unsend a Message On Snapchat?
- How to Delete Sent Messages On Snapchat Before It’s Opened
Sometimes you send a message on Snapchat and soon realize that you shouldn’t have sent it. Under such circumstances, it is natural to wish for a feature that could unsend your message.
In this article, we’ve explained if there is a way to unsend sent messages on Snapchat.
Can You Unsend a Message On Snapchat?
Snapchat does not offer any direct option to unsend sent messages. However, there is an indirect way that could help you achieve the same goal.
The indirect way involves deleting a sent message before the other person sees it. If you do this, the recipient will never know about the content of the message. However, they will know that you have deleted something.
How to Delete Sent Messages On Snapchat Before It’s Opened
As Snapchat messages disappear from the chat automatically once they are viewed, this method works only for unopened messages.
Step 1: Launch the Snapchat app and go to the Chats section.
Step 2: Open the chat you’d like to remove the message from.
Step 3: Locate the unopened message you want to delete.
Step 4: Tap and hold the message.
Step 5: Select the Delete option.
Step 6: A pop-up will appear asking for confirmation. Tap Delete Chat.
You have successfully deleted the sent message. The other person won’t know the content of the message however they will know that you have deleted the message.
If you have sent a photo or a video message, you can follow the same procedure to delete it from the chat.
Can you unsend a message on Snapchat without them knowing?
No. When you unsend (delete) a message on Snapchat, the other user will know that you have deleted the message.
What happens when you delete an unopened message on Snapchat?
When you delete an unopened message, it gets removed from the chat. However, the “DELETED A CHAT” message will appear on both the chat tab.
How to delete a snap on Snapchat?
To delete a snap, tap and hold the snap and select Delete. The snap will then disappear from both the chats.
If you delete a snap before it’s viewed, can they see it?
Once the snap is deleted, the recipient can’t see it.