How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently or Deactivate Temporarily

Spent a lot of time scrolling through the Facebook feed and now want to take a break from it?

Deactivating or Deleting a Facebook account is the right option to keep yourself away from social media.

Deleting FB account is not as easy as what it seems. The social media make money off you, so they don’t want you to leave their platform easily.

But don’t worry, I have explained step by step on how to deactivate Facebook account temporarily and how to delete Facebook account permanently.

Before getting started let’s understand what deactivating and deleting a Facebook account mean.

If you deactivate your account:

1. You can again reactivate the account by logging in to that account with the same email/phone and password.
2. Your comment, profiles, photos, likes might be hidden until it is reactivated.
3. Some of the information like the message you have sent on Facebook messenger may remain, as the name won’t be revealed.

If you permanently delete your account:

1. You can’t re-access that account.
2. You can reactivate the account within 30 days by logging in. Once the duration is over you can never access the account.
3. Some of the information like the message you have sent on Facebook messenger may remain, as the name won’t be revealed.

How to deactivate a Facebook account temporarily?

Step I: Open the Facebook app and tap on the menu bar on the top right side corner.

Step II: Scroll down and tap on Setting and Privacy.

Step III: Tap on Settings.

Step IV: Scroll down and tap on Account Ownership and Control.

Step V: Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.

Step VI: Select Deactivate Account and tap on Continue to Account Deactivation.

Step VII: You have to type your password and tap on Continue to proceed.

Step VIII: Tap on Continue and then click on Deactivate my account.

Your messenger will be active until you deactivate it from the messenger app. You can send messages, videos, etc. and receive it too.

Users on your friend list can still see your names but they can’t visit your profiles. Other users who are not your friend can’t search you.

How to delete a Facebook account permanently?

You can follow the same step of how to temporarily deactivate a Facebook account up to step V.

Step I: Open the Facebook app and tap on the menu bar on the top right side corner.

Step II: Scroll down and tap on Setting and Privacy.

Step III: Tap on Settings.

Step IV: Scroll down and tap on Account Ownership and Control.

Step V: Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.

Step VI: Tap on Delete Account.

Step VII: Next click on Delete account. But before that, you can download your information from the given options.

Step VIII: To confirm permanent account deletion tap on Delete Account.

You can reactivate your account within 14 days of deletion and after the duration, you won’t be able to login back or retrieve any content or information you have added.

If you login within 14 days, your account deletion will be canceled and it will be automatically restored.

After you have deleted your Facebook account, you will no longer be able log in to apps and websites and you have to sign-up again and start from the beginning.

In some instances, your account might also get deleted.

How to remove the account of medically incapacitated family members or friends?

Child below 13 years: Facebook doesn’t allow children below 13 years of age to access Facebook. If there is a child below 13 accessing Facebook you can report here.
https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/209046679279097

Medically incapacitated users: You can provide the information of the user here.
https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/228813257197480

Facebook will take action and come out with a solution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *