Table of Contents Hide
Instagram has grown to be the trending social media platform due to the convenience of sharing photos and instant engagement on the app.
You may tend to have multiple accounts on Instagram, like business or private accounts, but it ends up getting hectic to manage several accounts. If you want a complete detox from the social media platform, you may get rid of it by deleting the account.
Let’s have a look at how to delete your secondary account.
How to Delete Your Second Instagram Account Permanently
Step 1: Log in to your second Instagram account on your mobile browser or computer. This is important because it is not possible to delete an account from the Instagram app.
Step 2: After logging in to your account, head on to the “Delete Your Account” page on the same browser. Here, you will find options to delete your account.
Step 3: Once the page opens, there appears a drop-down menu with a question – Why do you want to delete [your username]? Answer the question from the list of options provided.
Step 4: After that, you will be asked to enter the password of your Instagram account. Enter your password next to the text field Re-enter your password.
Step 5: Tap Delete [your-username] at the bottom, upon which your account deletion process will be completed.
It will take 30 days for your account to be deleted permanently.
These simple steps will help you to get rid of your secondary account. By getting your second account deleted, you can alleviate the issue of managing multiple accounts.
What Happens After You Delete Your Account
The decision of deleting your account can be a way to get rid of social media and also work as a social media detox.
After you delete your account permanently, it cannot be revived and all your posts, likes, comments, followers and every other such detail associated with the account will get deleted permanently.
Once you complete the process of deletion of your account, Instagram cannot help you to reactivate the account anytime in the future. All of the information linked with the deleted account will get erased forever after 30 days of the account deletion request.
Difference Between Removing and Deleting An Account
The removal and permanent deletion of an Instagram may sound quite similar, but both are different in their action.
Removing an account on Instagram works temporarily to remove one of the multiple accounts linked on your Instagram app.
To remove an account, go to your profile, tap the three horizontal lines, then tap Settings. Scroll to the bottom and tap Log Out “username”. Your account will be removed from the app. However, you can add back later using your login credentials.
Deleting an account will completely erase your data and you won’t be able to retrieve it once deleted.
If you consider having a second thought regarding the deletion of the account, you can simply remove the account to get rid of the multiple accounts clutter. This way you won’t lose your Instagram data.