Table of Contents Hide
Want to get rid of the most popular social platform, Instagram? If YES, you’re in the right place.
Instagram has become everyone’s obsession nowadays to share photos, videos, reels & stories. Although it’s a part of the entertainment, you might be wasting your time scrolling through posts endlessly day and night. The good news is you can cut down your distractions by deleting your Instagram account.
You have got two options to cure your craving for Instagram. You can either disable it temporarily or delete your account permanently. Make sure to choose the right one so that you won’t regret performing any of the actions.
Let’s understand what deactivate and delete mean on Instagram.
Deactivate Vs Delete
Deactivating Temporarily: If you just disable your account temporarily, all your posts, likes and comments will be hidden. But you can retrieve your account and data later by just logging back into your account using the previous login credentials.
This option is the right choice if you want to cut your distraction from Instagram for time being and want to use the same account in the future. This does not lead to the loss of your data on Instagram.
Deleting Permanently: If you’ve made up your mind to delete your account permanently, you can never retrieve your data back once the action is performed. All your posts, likes, followers, and comments will be gone forever.
It is advisable to download your data before deleting your account so that you don’t lose them.
How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently
Step 1: Launch the Instagram app on your iPhone.
Step 2: Tap your profile icon in the bottom right corner.
Step 3: Tap the three lines in the top right.
Step 4: Tap Settings.
Step 5: Tap Account.
Step 6: Select Delete account.
Step 7: On the next page, choose Delete Account, then tap Continue Deleting Account.
Step 8: Select an option from the drop-down menu below Why do you want to delete [your-username]? and enter your password in the Re-enter your password text field.
Step 9: Tap Delete [your-username], then press OK to confirm.
Points to Remember
- Your account won’t be deleted immediately, it will be deleted after 30 days of the deletion request. Your profile will not be visible between now and then.
- On the account deletion page, you will see the exact date your account will be deleted permanently. If you change your mind to use Instagram again, you can log back into your account before the deletion date and choose to keep your account.
Using Instagram Web
Android users can’t delete their Instagram accounts using their app. You need to use Instagram on the web.
Step 1: Go to Instagram Account Deletion Page on your mobile or computer browser. If you aren’t logged in on your browser, you’ll be asked to sign in.
Step 2: Select an option from the drop-down menu below Why do you want to delete [your-username]? and enter your password in the Re-enter your password text field.
Step 3: Tap Delete [your-username].
Can you delete your Instagram account without waiting 30 days?
No, it’s not possible to delete your Instagram account on the same day. You need to wait 30 days after the deletion request to get your profile removed permanently.
Can you delete your Instagram account without a password?
Password is a must while deleting your Instagram account as it ensures your account’s safety. If you forgot your password, here’s how to change your Instagram password without an old password.
Can you delete your Instagram account without being logged in?
Before you delete your account, you must first log in to your account. If you’re logged out, you can’t delete your account.