Snapchat is famous for its disappearing message feature. Snapchat, by default, deletes the one-to-one chats you receive after 24 hours have passed. We will learn in this article how to change when your Chats get deleted on Snapchat.
Remember, chats and snaps are not the same things on Snapchat. Snaps, by default, disappear after you view them on Snapchat. However, you can manage when Snapchat deletes your chats or snaps.
Change When Your Chats Get Deleted on Snapchat
Here is how you can manage when your chats on Snapchat disappear in one-to-one conversations.
Step1: Open the Snapchat app and access the chat screen by swiping right on the camera screen. You can also open the chat screen on Snapchat by tapping the chat icon in the bottom menu.
Step2: Long-press a profile on your Snapchat chat screen.
Step3: Select More, then choose Delete Chats.
Step4: Decide when you want Snapchat to delete your chats by selecting “24 Hours after viewing” or “After Viewing.”
Note that Snapchat will delete your viewed chats if you pick the “After Viewing” option in step4. Snapchat will not delete your chats if the other person saves or reacts to them.
In Snapchat group chats, chats disappear by default one day after all the members view them. Even when the members do not see the chats, they vanish after the passing of one week. Snapchat will not delete your group chat messages if somebody saves or replies to them.